In short
Three sizes from 63 to 163 litres, for smaller quantities of tool and device batteries. Double-wall construction certified for fire, impact and security, with an integrated smoke sensor and an internal drawer. The specification sheet states no fire-resistance duration and makes no VDMA 24994 claim.
This is the entry point to the range: a workshop, a small depot, a school technology store, a bike shop with a handful of packs. For those situations a modest cabinet plus good procurement and charging discipline is often a more proportionate answer than a large cabinet — see the order of controls.
The three sizes
| Model | External H×W×D | Internal H×W×D | Volume | Weight | Door swing / handle | Shelves | Drawer | Key hooks |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BS0441 | 640×500×500mm | 510×375×330mm | 63 L | 93kg | 440mm / 40mm | 1 | 1 | 3 |
| BS0442 | 820×520×520mm | 670×380×330mm | 84 L | 120kg | 460mm / 40mm | 2 | 1 | 3 |
| BS0444 | 1160×655×560mm | 980×475×350mm | 163 L | 228kg | 570mm / 40mm | 3 | 1 | 5 |
What the sheet does and does not say
It describes the series as having double-wall construction that is fire, impact and security certified, with integrated smoke sensors and key, electronic or fingerprint locking. It states that the range suits both domestic and commercial settings.
It does not state a fire-resistance duration, a test standard, a watt-hour capacity or a number of power outlets. We are not going to fill those gaps with plausible-looking figures. If any of them matter to your risk assessment — and a duration usually does — ask for them in writing before you buy, along with which direction the fire was applied from. How to choose a battery storage cabinet lists the six questions worth asking.
Frequently asked questions
Is this big enough for e-bike batteries?
Measure before assuming. Internal heights are 510mm, 670mm and 980mm, less 95mm where the drawer is fitted, and e-bike packs are the awkward item in most stores — long, and often needing to lie flat. For a handful of packs the BS0444 may work; for a fleet, look at the BS1940, which publishes watt-hour capacities rather than volume alone.
Can I charge inside it?
The series is described as providing storage and charging, but the sheet does not state how many outlets are fitted or their rating, and it does not say the cabinet was tested with power applied. Both are worth confirming: a cabinet tested empty is not tested in the configuration you will use. See charging cabinets for what changes when power is involved.
Is a smoke sensor enough of a warning?
It is better than nothing, but cells vent flammable gas before they produce visible smoke or flame, so gas detection gives earlier warning for this failure mode. The more important question is where the signal goes: a sensor that only sounds locally in an empty building overnight is not much of a control. See what causes thermal runaway.
Specifications on this page are taken from the manufacturer’s published specification sheet for the BS0440 series. Where the sheet does not state a figure, this page says so rather than estimating.
| Brand | Phoenix Safe Company |
|---|---|
| Model | BS0441, BS0442, BS0444 |
| Fire resistance | Described as fire, impact and security certified; no duration stated on the specification sheet |
| Tested to | Not stated on the manufacturer's specification sheet |
| Dimensions (H×W×D mm) | 640×500×500mm (BS0441) to 1160×655×560mm (BS0444) |
| Doors | 1 |
| Charging outlets | Built-in power outlets; number not stated on the specification sheet |
| Charging version | Available |