In short
The smallest range, and the only one below the Commander Pro that publishes a watt-hour limit: 100Wh, 200Wh or 350Wh maximum battery capacity. That is a single pack or a few small tool batteries — not an e-bike pack, which is typically several hundred watt-hours on its own.
Useful for an office, a small workshop, a classroom store, or the quarantine of one suspect pack. The stated watt-hour maximum is genuinely helpful — it tells you the limit in the unit that matters, which most small cabinets do not.
The three sizes
| Model | Max battery capacity | External H×W×D | Internal H×W×D | Volume | Weight | Door swing / handle | Shelves | Doors |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BS1281 | 100Wh | 360×410×365mm | 260×320×235mm | 19 L | 28kg | 350mm / 40mm | 0 | 1 |
| BS1282 | 200Wh | 410×350×430mm | 320×260×305mm | 25 L | 34kg | 325mm / 40mm | 1 | 1 |
| BS1283 | 350Wh | 515×400×440mm | 410×300×300mm | 36 L | 53kg | 375mm / 40mm | 1 | 1 |
Check this first
Read the watt-hour figure on your own packs before choosing. An 18V 5Ah power tool battery is 90Wh, so three of them exceed the BS1281. A 36V 14Ah e-bike pack is 504Wh — more than the largest model in this range takes. How to work out watt-hours.
What the sheet does not say
No fire-resistance duration, no test standard, and no VDMA 24994 claim. The series is described as fire, impact and security certified, which tells you the construction has been tested but not for how long or against which scenario. For a cabinet holding 100Wh that may be a reasonable trade; for anything larger, ask for the duration and the direction of the test in writing.
Frequently asked questions
Can I use this for a damaged battery?
A small dedicated cabinet is a sensible place to quarantine one suspect pack, provided it is separated from healthy stock and, where practicable, outside the occupied building. Do not put a damaged pack in the same cabinet as good ones, and do not charge it. Once a pack is waste it falls under the Waste Batteries and Accumulators Regulations 2009.
Is 350Wh enough for a workshop?
Usually not. Four 18V 5Ah tool batteries come to 360Wh, which already exceeds the largest model here. Add up your own total rather than counting units — a workshop that looks modest often turns out to hold several thousand watt-hours. See how to choose a cabinet.
Specifications on this page are taken from the manufacturer’s published specification sheet for the BS1280 series. Where the sheet does not state a figure, this page says so rather than estimating.
| Brand | Phoenix Safe Company |
|---|---|
| Model | BS1281, BS1282, BS1283 |
| Fire resistance | Described as fire, impact and security certified; no duration stated on the specification sheet |
| Tested to | Not stated on the manufacturer's specification sheet |
| Capacity (Wh) | 100 (BS1281), 200 (BS1282), 350 (BS1283) maximum battery capacity |
| Dimensions (H×W×D mm) | 360×410×365mm (BS1281) to 515×400×440mm (BS1283) |
| Doors | 1 |
| Charging outlets | Built-in power outlets; number not stated on the specification sheet |
| Charging version | Available |