In short
A large single-door cabinet: 338 litres, three shelves, 90-minute fire protection, with a smoke detector and internal temperature monitor. The specification sheet does not claim VDMA 24994 certification for this series — if that matters to your risk assessment, look at the BS1940 Commander Pro.
This is the volume-storage option below the Commander Pro. It is substantially built — double wall, certified for fire, impact and security — and for many stores it is a proportionate control. What it does not carry is a published test of a fire starting inside the cabinet.
Specification
| Model | BS1932 |
|---|---|
| Locking options | Key, electronic or fingerprint |
| External dimensions (H×W×D) | 1770 × 690 × 650mm |
| Internal dimensions (H×W×D) | 1505 × 510 × 440mm |
| External cable box | Adds 100mm depth |
| Trunking | Adds 25mm height |
| Door swing / handle depth | 470mm / 40mm |
| Weight | 400kg, excluding packaging |
| Capacity | 338 litres |
| Shelves | 3, heavy duty |
| Doors | 1 |
| Fire protection | 90 minutes |
Worth knowing
Capacity here is published in litres, not watt-hours. Litres tell you what will physically fit; watt-hours tell you how much energy a failure has to release. The two cannot be converted into one another, so size on volume for fit and use your own watt-hour total for the risk assessment. See capacity and watt-hours explained.
Features
- Large volume lithium-ion storage and charging, with built-in power outlets
- 90 minute fire protection
- Robust steel double-wall construction, certified for fire resistance, impact resistance and security
- Key or electronic locking
- Internal temperature monitor
- Heat protected ventilation
- Smoke detector and alarm
- Plinth for relocation, so the cabinet can be moved out of the building during a fire
Frequently asked questions
Is this cabinet VDMA 24994 certified?
Not according to its specification sheet. The sheet describes the series as certified for fire resistance, impact resistance and security, and states 90-minute fire protection, but it makes no VDMA 24994 claim. Only the BS1940 Commander Pro carries that certification. If a supplier tells you otherwise, ask for the certificate and the test house — see the standards comparison for why the distinction matters.
Does 90 minutes mean it holds a battery fire for 90 minutes?
Not necessarily, and this is the single most misread figure on cabinet datasheets. A 90-minute rating usually describes how long the contents stay below a temperature rise while a fire burns outside the cabinet. A battery fire starts inside it. The sheet for this series does not state which direction was tested, so ask before relying on it.
How many batteries will 338 litres hold?
It depends entirely on pack size and how you shelve them, which is why the manufacturer calls the figure a guide. Measure your tallest and widest pack rather than counting units — an e-bike pack is usually the awkward one. Then check your total watt-hours separately, because volume and energy content are different constraints.
Specifications on this page are taken from the manufacturer’s published specification sheet for the BS1930 series. Where the sheet does not state a figure, this page says so rather than estimating.
| Brand | Phoenix Safe Company |
|---|---|
| Model | BS1932 |
| Fire resistance | 90 minutes |
| Tested to | Not stated on the manufacturer's specification sheet — described as fire, impact and security certified, with no VDMA 24994 claim |
| Dimensions (H×W×D mm) | 1770×690×650mm external; 1505×510×440mm internal |
| Doors | 1 |
| Charging outlets | Built-in power outlets; number not stated on the specification sheet |
| Charging version | Available |